Sangria

I have been feeling a bit guilty for not talking to my mom on her birthday.  Now before you start judging me, I did try to call her, and I have a card and gift for when I see her in a few days, but I still feel like I should do something to make up for not actually talking to her or seeing her on her birthday.  So, I thought I would make a drink up just for her.

Unlike, my dad, she is not much of a drinker.  There are only two drinks I know she likes:  very sweet white wine and Captain and Coke.  Not exactly two drinks you can mix or alter, but then it hit me.  Sangria!  It is perfect for summer time too, it is the perfect drink to serve at a BBQ or while camping, or just to sip on at the beach.

beach

Sangria

1 bottle of sweet white wine (semillion or moscato works best)

½ a pineapple cut into chunks without rind

2 small granny smith apples cut into chunks without core

1 mango cut into chunks without skin

1 orange cut into chunks with rind

Juice of 1 lemon

¼ cup sugar

½ cup spiced rum

3 cups Sprite or other citrus soda of your choice

Add all the chopped fruit to a pitcher and pour the lemon juice over.  This is to prevent the fruit from turning brown so make sure it coats all the fruit well.  Add sugar and rum and stir until the sugar dissolves.  Add the bottle of wine and stir until everything is combined.  Let it set for at least an hour.  Once you are ready to serve add ice and soda.

sangria

By Krystle Turkington

@KrystleBar

http://www.HappyHourPal.com

Happy Hour Pal is available for Android and iPhone and support Hawaii, Portland, and The Hamptons!

Leave a Reply

